First Week install/configure

It’s been a slow start to the project, nice weather tends to do that to me.  I manged to find a great video series about Android development that really starts from the ground up.  Actually, it’s kind of boring at times when he begins to talk about what’s going on in the Java code he’s typing, the XML I am lost but the Java is pretty straight forward (for now).

I have mixed feelings about using Eclipse for this project, I think it will come in handy most of the time but, it’s really bloated.  I like Gedit, or I guess notepad++ for windows.

I watched the first videos, downloaded Eclipse, downloaded everything I needed, John wants to work on Android 4.03 since his phone will be able to use it.  It’s going to work fine but, just won’t be available to as many people considering it’s a much newer version than the API level 8 that was suggested in the video series.   The videos came in handy since I thought it was always kind of a pain in the neck to set up Eclipse in Java.

It’s pretty convenient that I am learning XML because I had to use it recently at my job, and knew where I was because of watching a few videos.

Tags: , , , , ,

About jamescelona

Studying CS/Math at WSU.

Leave a comment