Final Thoughts about CS401/Eucalyptus

I had a lot of fun working in this class it was definitely a difference experience than almost all my CS courses before hand.   I liked working on a big project my only request for the future is to see more code but, something that was really unavoidable for a beta-test style class that we had.  I know it wasn’t anyone’s fault just too many problems with the cluster to really get into it.  Just because we didn’t get coding done doesn’t mean I didn’t learn quite a bit about how exactly working on a big project was like.  Learning to use git, irc, and being on a list server were pretty new experiences for me, aside from gaming I had never used irc, git seems to be invaluable to know since every employer I’ve talked to seemed excited that I already know it.

 

Main thing I’ll take away from the course is exactly what cloud computing is, all the nomenclature we’ve learned, how to work on large scale projects, how to communicate with a large group of people from different time zones and different backgrounds in programming/computer science.

 

Final presentations today were great, seemed like every group found a lot of different topics to talk about and cover and they all seemed to master their specific topic.

Tags: , , , ,

About jamescelona

Studying CS/Math at WSU.

Leave a comment